Every two years you must renew your Real Estate license in order to continue practicing Real Estate. You must maintain a certain amount of educational hours to renew your license. These classes are available online and in person.

 

Renewing your License for the First Time:

First time license renewal and for veteran Real Estate agents, your renewal requirements are entirely different. Oregon Advanced Practices Real Estate Broker class is the only CE course the OREA allows for first time renewals. You may participate in a Law and Rule class in person or online.

  1. Take the Advanced Practices Broker 27 hour course, with 3 hours of Law and Rule.
  2. Collect your certificates for class completion.
  3. Go to eLicense online to renew your Real Estate License.
  4. Pay the $300 fee for licensing renewal.

 

Renew your License:

  1. Take 27 hours of CE credit classes and 3 hours of Law and Rule.
  2. Collect your certificates for class completion.
  3. Go to eLicense online to renew your Real Estate License.
  4. Pay the $300 fee for licensing renewal.

 

Renew an Inactive License:

  1. Go to eLicense online to renew your Real Estate License.
  2. Pay the $150 fee for licensing renewal.
  3. Contact your REALTOR association to renew your membership. If over 6 months inactive, fill out your membership applications.
  4. Upon renewing your membership, you will pay the yearly dues to maintain your REALTOR status ($570 in January, see prorated chart here)
  5. Business as usual. Resume taking your CE classes for next licensing renewal!

Real estate licenses are not obtained through us, the Central Oregon Association of REALTORS®. To obtain your real estate license, you will apply through Oregon Real Estate Agency. However, we have listed the instructions below on how to get your licensing to help you through your process. 

 

The broker license you will need to be a real estate broker is the entry-level license in Oregon. A licensed real estate broker can conduct professional real estate activity as defined in ORS 696.010 while supervised by a principal broker. For more information, click here.

Once you have obtained your license, you will then join the Central  Oregon Association of REALTORS® or another REALTOR® association outside of Central Oregon. Then you would be considered a REALTOR®.

 

Broker License Requirements

To qualify for a real estate broker license, you must:

  • Be 18 years old.
  • Have a high school diploma, GED or international equivalent.

 

If you qualify, you must complete these steps in this order:

  1. Complete a Real Estate License Application in eLicense.
    • When the application is processed, you will receive an applicant ID number.
  2. Pay the $300 license application fee in eLicense.
  3. Select an Agency-approved real estate school.
    • You will provide your applicant ID number and your full name to your real estate school.
  4. Complete the 150 hours of required broker pre-license education.
    • The real estate school will then make you eligible to take the license exam.
  5. Register and pay to take the broker license exam with PSI.
  6. Pass both sections of the broker license exam.
  7. Pay for and submit fingerprints for the required background check while at a PSI testing center.
  8. Once you have completed the requirements and your background check has cleared, your new principal broker can then log in to eLicense and associate you with their business.
    • At that time, the Agency will issue you a license.

*Please note: License exam scores and background check clearances are each good for one year. The Agency can only issue a license while the relevant scores and background check clearance are valid.

 

For information on Principal Broker Licensing, Property Manager Licensing and other licenses information, please visit the Oregon Real Estate Agency website here.